PART 5: HIS SISTER, THE MORGUE, AND MEETING THE DRIVER

Read my 1st entry here

Read Part 2 here

Read Part 3 here

Read Part 4 here

Chris’s sister arrives and I rush to her, look her in the eyes while she asks, “Where is Kuya?”  I couldn’t answer straight up, how?

My dad says, “Hindi mo pa pala alam, he’s dead.”

IMG_6497

Chelyn did not move, her eyes filling up with tears.  We hugged and cried together.  And as if she was reading my mind she asked me, “Pano ko sasabihin kila Mama??”

I told her, “I don’t know.  But we need to be strong, we need to handle this, tayong dalawa ang inaasahan.”

She wanted a breather so Chelyn made a quick call to her husband.  Really, what to do??

We were helpless, but I lifted it all up to Him.

IMG_6495

Since Chris’ sister was here, we can move his body to the funeral home.  But first, the police said I need to identify his body.

Mateo wanted to come.  I didn’t want him to see his dad like that.  But he insisted.

Off we walked to the morgue.  The police opened the door.

My son saw someone wrapped in a bloody white blanket.  He looked into my eyes and asked, “Who’s that??  Does daddy have a lot of booboos?  I don’t want, I’m scared.”

I said, ok go with Mamu (my mom), I’ll see you later.

Good thing he said yes.  I don’t want him to see his dad like that.  I didn’t want to see his dad like that.

So Chelyn and I were the ones left.  We asked each other, “Ready ka na?”

I said, “Saluhin mo ako ha pag hinimatay ako.”

She answered, “Sino sasalo sa akin?”

Ahhh, I had an idea, “Kuya (policeman), saluhin nyo kami ha?”

Then I requested, “Pwede po bang mukha lang ang ipakita ninyo, itago na lang ang injuries nya.  Chaka narinig ko po, may laceration sya sa ulo, pwede po takpan?”

The policeman agreed.  He called us after prepping Chris’ body.

In my mind, “Ok, this is it.  Lord, be with me.”

Chelyn and I entered the morgue, and there… I saw my husband’s lifeless body.  Still clear in my head until now.

I wanted to shout Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! But I just broke down in tears.

I heard the policeman say, “Ma’am may bulak sa ilong to stop bleeding.”

His eyes were closed, so pale, I can see blood.  I cried, “Asawa ko, anong ginawa sa ‘yo?”

My heart, my partner, the man I was supposed to spend the rest of my life with.  Gone.

IMG_4860

In my head, I took care of him!  His skin was so sensitive just a mere scratch will surely make a mark… then this!!!  I can just imagine what his body went through.

Anyone’s heart will surely break.  And I wish no one will ever experience that feeling.

The police covered his face.  Called the funeral staff to get the body.

Chelyn and I tried to stay calm.  We made it without fainting!

IMG_5002

They placed Chris’ body in the ambulance/ transporter van.  We went in and rode with him.

I couldn’t imagine this was happening.  I turn my back and stare at his body, tears falling uncontrollably.  Is this true?  His lifeless body swaying as the van moved.

I wanted to hug him while he was strapped on a stretcher!  (looking back, I should’ve done it)

FUNERARIA PAZ

On the way to the funeral home, I prayed, I just bathed myself in God’s peace.  It was Him and me.

I needed to be ready for the days to come.  I needed his grace to be strong and face this huge trial with faith, hope and love.

We arrived La Funeraria Paz in no time.  I proceeded to the office where my mom was waiting and talking to the manager.

Now it was time to prepare for his funeral.

I remember entering this room full of coffins.  I was shopping for one.  Who would’ve thought.  I ask Chris, “What do you like?”

When I turned left I saw this silver coffin that looked really elegant.  That was it.

My mom took care of all other details.  I just gave my approval.  She was with me every step of the way.  Moms are the best!

IMG_4337

I stepped out of the room and saw a guy staring at me, he approached me and asked, “Is it true?”

I assumed he was one of Chris’ friends or officemates.  I nodded.  Then he broke down into tears, “Kung alam n’yo lang kung gaano ako tinulungan ni TL.  He pushed me to get to where I am now.”

My heart just melted.  My husband was never a bragger.  He was very humble and did not talk about how much he has done for people.  He lets his actions speak for him.

For Chris, helping was a part of his life, not an unusual thing to do.  He had a caring and tender heart.  All these starting to unfold for the world to see.

IMG_4028

I needed to let his best friend know.  So I called Noj who assured me he was coming asap. That was one of the hardest things I had to do.  He loved his friends and treated him like his brothers.

CHRIS FRIENDS 2

MEETING THE DRIVER

On the way to the precinct I was praying… hard!  I looked at my son and I hold back my tears.  He hasn’t realized how this day has changed his life forever.  And I like that he was okay.

But he was carefully watching my every move.  I realized how crucial my actions were.  How intentional I should be.  I need to model how, when confronted with grave trials, a follower of Jesus should respond.

So that when he grows up, he knows Who to run to.  And he will be fine.

As we drive closer to our destination, I just surrendered myself to God.  I was not angry.  No hate.  How is it possible?  But the Lord spared me.  His grace was overflowing!

Instead of bitterness, he replaced it with compassion.  I was praying for the driver and his family.  I was praying that they be comforted by Christ’s embrace through all these.  I know in their hearts they didn’t mean to kill someone.  Yes he was reckless… but I was just a sinner as him.

God impressed upon my heart to forgive.  No doubt I was gonna do that!

Mateo and I went down the car, my steps getting heavier.  When we entered the precinct, I saw the driver and his wife.  Crying so hard they said, “Sorry po!!!”  I walk to them my arms also stretched out, I hugged them and we bawled.

They won’t stop saying sorry.  I uttered, “I forgive you!”  They cried harder.

The driver was explaining to me how the incident happened but I didn’t need and want to hear that.  I stopped him and I just said, “Ok na po.  Pinapatawad ko na kayo.  Ayusin na natin para makauwi na kayo.”

The traffic policemen were shocked.  Even the detainees inside the tiny jail cell couldn’t believe their eyes.  God is amazing!

I wanted to make them feel God’s love through all these.

“How can we help?”  the couple asked me.  I said, “I want you to see Jesus in all these.  I forgive you because He has forgiven me—us.  Who am I not to!”

source: pinterest.com

After we have arranged the paper works for the driver’s release (and his car), it was time to go back to Paz.  On our way back I just felt so light and at peace.

I know Chris would’ve done the same.

MG-1368

A couple of years back, I remember the time when we were at the most trying time of our marriage.  I was the culprit as usual.  He told me he needed to leave, to make me think because he felt that I didn’t need him.  Of course not!  I needed him! My heart was a mess.  I was crying my heart out to him.  I said I was sooooo SORRY.  That I will do anything just so he can forgive me…  what do I need to do??

His answer, “Just hug me…”

I did.  We hugged and kissed like there was no tomorrow.  In the end, he asked me, “How can I improve?  What do I need to change?  For sure there is something.”

Can you believe him?  I was the bad one, but he felt he was the one who needs to change?  This guy, unbelievable.  How he has taught me humility, understanding, forgiveness and how to love truly.

IMG_4279

From then on, my heart changed.  I wanted to be the best wife to my loving husband.  God also made a way so I can be closer to him through my Power of a Praying Wife group.  Really worked wonders.  Not only did I gain wonderful friends, I was made accountable for my actions while getting to know Jesus more and more!  What a blessing!

IMG_4602

41 thoughts on “PART 5: HIS SISTER, THE MORGUE, AND MEETING THE DRIVER

  1. Mae Anne says:

    Hi Mariz… Thank you ! I can see Jesus in your life I want to live like you… I also want people to see Jesus in my Life. You are admirable! God is glorified with your life… I want to know you more and Iearn from you too! God bless you!

    Like

  2. Rochelle chavez says:

    Heart breaking. But You’re so brave. Indeed, if God is with us, who can be against us. I’ll include u and ur son in my prayers

    Like

  3. Graciela Enriquez says:

    Goosebumps all over. This made my day and made me cry. Thinking what I woukd do in that situation and I coudnt contain. I’m not very vocal when it comes to faith, but I do believe in His Existence.

    God Bless you always.

    Like

  4. Irishmae Cajayon-Villegas says:

    Hi Mariz!
    You are an amazing woman. I just couldnt put into words how you inspire and enlighten me with God’s grace. Just so amazing… You and ur little Mateo will always be in my prayers. God Bless… 😊

    Like

  5. Rache says:

    Stay strong, TL Chris used to tell me how proud he was of you and Mateo. He loved you both so much. He was my mentor for TDP and whenever I felt irritated, its as if he knew what words to say to keep me focused… and then after that hurry home because he misses you and Mateo. I am sure he is up there watching over you both- his family.

    Like

  6. Mike Sarino says:

    Boss chirs indeed changed my views in life.. I am greatful and so proud to have worked wth him.. Thank you Ms. Mariz for sharing your story.. Very inspiring.. God bless you and mateo.. 🙂

    Like

  7. Anne says:

    I am reading from Korea.So much GRaCe is overflowing in every word.Thank you for the courage to share.Keeping you in my prayers.huggs

    Like

    • mommymar says:

      Awww thank you for reading Anne! so blessed to know that the blog was able to reach you in Korea 🙂 Your prayers mean a lot! hugs back.

      Like

  8. ATHENA JACINTO says:

    Hi Ms. Mariz! I am so blessed to be one of TL Chris trainees before. He is so kind and helpful. During our nesting period, he always try to come and visit us although its already beyond his work time. He will even stop what he’s doing just to entertain my questions. I know that sometimes nakukulitan na sya sa dami ng tanong ko. But whenever I say sorry for being so persistent, he will just give me a very warm smile and answered me that its okay. It’s like he will always be there for you. He will also reminds me to be positive and to believe in myself that I can do it.

    Its so heart breaking when I heard the news about what happened to him. Its painful because he doesn’t deserve to die like that. But I know, GOD has a better plan for what happened. I admire you! You forgive without a doubt. You let your pain be taken away by GOD’s LOVE. I’m not very vocal when it comes to my faith but I know, GOD is always there guiding us and showering us with HIS LOVE.

    Godbless to you and your little angel Mateo. Take care always.

    Like

    • mommymar says:

      Thank you Athena for your kind and loving words for Chris 🙂 means a lot to me! He was really one of a kind…
      I forgive without a doubt because Jesus forgave me without hesitation too!
      Have a great day! Take care 🙂

      Like

  9. nocturnalmomtalks says:

    I just finished reading your story. I am a Team Leader, too. I admire your courage and faith, mommy M. You inspired me to have a stronger faith in God. Chris inspired me to become humble and a better leader. Hugs for you. I follpqedw your blog so I can read more from you. God bless you more, mommy M. Hugs for Mateo, too.

    Like

  10. Yana says:

    Hi MommyMar! You are one brave woman with a very strong faith in God. Your story made me rethink about life, and my relationship with God and my husband.

    Last night, my husband also got into an accident, however, small. He had a minor injury– a little cut on his nose due to a glass splint. I was happy he got home alive. But I forgot to thank God.

    A little later after he had dinner, I heard a bang on our wall. He was covering an outlet next to our bed, which our little girl have been trying to reach since she started sitting up. Ofcourse, our little girl was awakened. I was mad because I was so tired yesterday and I couldn’t rest soon knowing it is not easy to put our girl to sleep. When I asked my husband why he had to cover it right away, when he could have done it some other time, he said he only wanted to surprise me. I did not appreciate it.

    Now, I realize that I have so much to thank the Lord for and that I am blessed with time to change.

    Thanks for sharing your story. May our Dear Lord continue to guide you and your son.

    Like

  11. Mica Salavante says:

    Hi Mommy Mariz we met during The hakab na event last year. I was with you in the registration committee. When I heard about what happened to your husband no words grabe goosebumps…I really admire your strength because you were able to talk and forgive the driver in spite of what happened.

    Life is indeed short, we should live as if its our last.

    All I want to do now is hug you tight. Praying for you sis..God bless you more and your family.

    Like

  12. Jay says:

    Di ako mahilig magbasa pero as I go along each part, di talaga maiwasan pagtulo ng luha ko. FYI – im a boy! Pero wala naman sa gender when it comes to love and especially faith with God. SALAMAT talaga for sharing your story. I know your hubby will always be there to hug u and your son and kasama nya c Lord hugging you both. Thanks much.

    Like

  13. Rhoy says:

    I am humbled by your faith to God. I felt unworthy of his LOVE.. I can’t find a word to describe your so much FAITH with HIM.. I wish I could also be forgiving and faithful to HIM.. you’re awesome.. You’ve displayed your so much love and faith on HIM.. God bless you and your son always..

    Like

  14. cheen leosala says:

    Hi po. I just accidentally saw this link online and read it. You are very blessed. I am currently having a God’s trial in marriage. Just so happened i read your story that even you are the culprit (like me) your husband forgave you. Hoping i would experience the same in God’s grace. God bless you, your son, and your family.

    Like

  15. Gracie says:

    You are a brave, strong woman of God.
    I am so blessed by your story. Truly God can turn a test into a Testimony. I know He will use you mightly for the advancement of His Kingdom and to help heal the hearts of people who are experiencing the kind of pain you’ve experience. Thank you for inspiring us to make every moment count with our husbands. God bless you and your son.

    Like

  16. Jed says:

    This definitely made me cry and reflect for a moment how I’d handle this kind of situation. Until now, I cannot imagine myself going through such a tough moment. But it made me realize that, yes, we cannot be prepared for this. We can only be with God’s embrace. Bless you and your son. Stay strong!

    Like

  17. Rose says:

    You are an amazing woman.i admire you as a woman, wife and as a mother..your strenght really amazing..all things are working together for good those how love God..theres always a reason for everthing.Godbless you and your son..u are one of a good example to everyone.

    Like

  18. Ann Del Rosario says:

    I am nothing compared to your braveness and belief in God. You have got to be the most inspiring person I have ever known. I wish you nothing more than whatever brings you and your son peace and happiness in this world.

    Like

  19. Girlie says:

    Wow 😱What a inspiration..it is truly God is amazing God that you overcome all the pain and hatred..you are such a role model..be strong and God will never leave you in times like this..Godbless you and your son😊

    Like

  20. iamstaciej says:

    Hi Mommy Mariz! I tried posting my comment last Saturday but it seems may error na nangyari. Anyway, I just want to tell you na bilib ako strength and willingness mo to forgive. This blog made me cry buckets of tears. The same thing happened to us in 2010, my Uncle died due to an accident. He was standing on the pedestrian lane with his wife and they both got hit by a car. Sadly, my Uncle didn’t make it. Siya yung nakaldkad ng car and na damage ng sobra nag head niya kaya DOA na siya agad. The driver was allegedly asleep habang naka stop ang cars due to traffic. She woke up suddenly and biglang nawalan ng control sa brakes. I had to break the sad news sa tatlo niyang anak at sa lahat ng relatives abroad. I have to admit na until now there’s still a part of me na hindi mapatawad ang driver sa recklessness niya and because she severely broke my lola’s (Uncle’s mom) heart. Kaya this blog inspired me a lot. Sobrang pure ng heart mo. I salute you for being such a great parent and a loving wife to your husband na angel na ngayon. God bless you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Yalda says:

    Hi Mariz. I admire your courage snd deep faith in God. I can’t stop my tears from falling as I read your story. Last August 21, 2015, We have lost our only daughter. She is 18 years old, so full of life full of talents. We love her so much and up to now acceptance is the hardest thing to do. My mind keeps telling me that I should let her go and surrender her to God, but easier said than done. Every night I keep asking the Lord for forgiveness asking Him to understand me for feeling this way. You inspired me to go on with life and to be strong for my Husband and my two boys. You made me realize that I’m not the only one suffering from the loss of a loved one. May the Lord continue to shower us the grace to accept His will. God bless you more and your son.

    Like

  22. Kaye says:

    Hindi ko matiis hindi mag reply, but sobrang pinahanga mo ako hindi ko alam ano maging reaksyon ko pag nangyari ito sakin. God is really good. Thank u for being an inspiration. God bless you and your son

    Like

Leave a comment